Skip To Main Content

Steering Committee

Lincoln with a group of students studying with a globe

Community Schools Steering Committee

The Steering Committee stewards the vision, infrastructure, resources, and alignment needed for Community Schools to thrive. Informed by and responsive to an engaged community, the Committee integrates systems-level knowledge and influence with the priorities of those closest to students and families to advise the initiative on its overall direction. Its key functions are:

  • Finance and sustainability
  • Policy development
  • Alignment to strategic plans
  • Communication and visibility
  • Evaluation
  • Overall priorities and system monitoring

Steering Committee Members

  • Amy Anson, Community Representative
  • Megan Aseltine, School District 69
  • Verda Bhatti, YWCA Evanston/NorthShore
  • Margaret Clauson, School District 69
  • Jeannine Cleary, SLAM
  • Ken Durr, Board of Education Representative
  • Erin Fenner, PTO Parent Representative
  • Lisa Helfand, S.E.A. Representative
  • Felicia Holtz, Community Representative
  • Bonnie Kahn Ognisanti, Niles Township
  • Tarin Kendrick, NTDSE
  • Richard Kong, Skokie Public Library
  • Jon Marquardt, Skokie Park District
  • Fernanda Perez, PLUS Parent Representative
  • Sarah Rankin, School District 69
  • Naz Shaana, P.S.R.P. Representative
  • Liza Sullivan, School District 69
  • Stephen Vick, Infant Welfare Society of Evanston

For more information, please contact:
Liza Sullivan, Community Schools Development Director,, 847-675-7666 x1091

5050 Madison Street, Skokie, IL 60077
(847) 675-7666